Page 19 of 19 « First<1516171819
Topic Options
#7319529 - 01/04/14 07:17 PM Re: The ebay advice thread [Re: Architecht]
OldWestGold Offline
Learning the Ropes

eBay is a great place to buy and sell. I have been doing it since they began in 2000. Sure buyer beware but remember to breath. Since I have been selling also since 2000, I periodically run in to the unreasonable bidder or buyer. Most sellers want to make the transaction go well. They don't want fights, trouble, etc. Yet there are some buyers out there that are unreasonable or newbies to eBay or the whole bidder experience. I used to travel to farm auctions with my father decades ago, and I always remeber the auctioneer beginning every auction stating the bidder determines the final vaule of an item. If you get caught up in a back and forth bidding match and end up paying 3 times what an item is worth, don't blame the seller. No one held a gun to your head to go crazy with your bids. Out of over over 10,000 buy and sell transactions I would guess I have had less than 6-8 go sour on me. Have I ever lost money either way? No. One has many resources today to twist the arm of a person giving you trouble with a transaction. Two buyers tried to stiff me, but once local law and Postal Officials sent letters out, these peole wised up real fast. On my buying side, I have had only a couple bad experiences, but again, with the stop gaps eBay has in place today, this is a problem that seldom comes up any further. Never pay cash, never meet some place. Always try to use Paypal and do not do transactions outside of eBay unless you are confident about the other person. And remember the old rule of thumb. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. eBay has alot of reputable dealers in my opinion. Some more so than at your local coin shows. Have fun. Chris @ oldwestgold
#7343136 - 01/11/14 09:54 PM Re: The ebay advice thread [Re: OldWestGold]
Chip Cataldo Offline
I was posting here when you were in diapers.