Page 433 of 433 « First<429430431432433
Topic Options
#9498695 - 08/07/16 11:49 PM Re: I Miss Dave (Stevens, that is) [Re: Saint Doyle]
Shark Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Oklahoma City, OK
I was a dealer at a small comicon in Tulsa yesterday and towards the end of the day a gentleman started talking to the dealer next to me. Apparently, the dealer had been trying to contact this guy for some time to buy a poster from him. As they talked my interest peaked.

This guy used to be a radio announcer back in the early 1990s and he told us a short story about how he came about having these posters. I asked if he had an extra one with him and he said yes. So both the other dealer and I were able to obtain 1 copy of this poster. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves. \:\)

"Everything you do is based on the choices you make. It's not your parents, your past relationships, your job, the economy. the weather, an argument, or your age that is to blame. You and only you are responsible for every decision and choice you make, period."

Shark's Feedback Thread:
http://boards.collectors-society.com/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=4294915

#9498829 - 08/08/16 03:39 AM Re: I Miss Dave (Stevens, that is) [Re: Saint Doyle]
Xaltotun Offline
If I just sell the car, I can up my bid...

Originally Posted By: Saint Doyle
Anyone want to weigh in on the validity of this eBay auction of supposedly original Dave Stevens art?

Several pages of the third issue of Rocketeer Adventure Magazine found their way into the market, probably sold by the various people who had helped Dave meet the deadline on that issue (Art Adams, Sandy Plunkett and others).
Not saying the auction is legit, or not, but yes, there are pages out there.
Dave had also sold a few pages of art over the years when he was in need of money. He told me he had sold the original cover to Comico Chistmast Special because he needed cash to pay his income tax. \:\)