Page 2710 of 2710 « First<27062707270827092710
Topic Options
#9151001 - Yesterday at 03:59 PM Re: GENERAL DISCUSSION - keep the other threads clean [Re: RockMyAmadeus]
vaillant Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Italy
 Originally Posted By: RockMyAmadeus
Louise and I spent much of SDCC 2011 chatting about stuff while you ran around the floor buying books. I don't think she had a problem with me being chatty. If she did, I certainly never heard about it.

;\)

When less is more, and conciseness isn't a problem, I'm pretty sure I handle that well, and I'm pretty sure my posting record is ample proof of that. But people focus on the "verbose" posts, and ignore the "concise" posts. Not a complaint, just pointing out the inconsistency of human nature.

However, less can be (and often is) less.

I say what I feel must be said, both to make the point AND to forestall possible objections/misunderstandings/misperceptions. Why is legalese so long? Because people WILL find a way to misconstrue/misunderstand/misrepresent, and there needs to be language to cover as many angles as possible.

One thing is speaking in person, one thing is writing on the internet. I would not assume that "people over 35" know how to discern: age has little to do with it, and besides you’ll find 80 year olds that are worse than some 15 year olds. \(shrug\)

I was not implying at all that you should change the way you communicate: but it’s not true at all that "less is less".
You will never "forestall" objections/misunderstandings/misperceptions just by "forethinking": if one is not much willing to reason and takes you "the wrong way" – that’s why I said that how your writing style "comes across" could be problematic, but it might just be me…

I know for sure that right now, in many cases, I feel put off by the length of posts, especially if the topic is not so delicate to spend so much time on it.

Forum only selling notice

GENERAL PUBLIC SERVICE NOTICE ON POSTING GUIDELINES