Page 645 of 1023 « First<643644645646647>Last »
Topic Options
#5747745 - 06/06/12 02:03 PM Re: Gold Price Hits $500/oz. [Re: ninanina]
delekkerste Offline

James Bond wears a Rolex...the rest is just product placement.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: New York, NY
 Originally Posted By: ninanina
Why is the market going up and...will it last?

Any thoughts?

Europes is still about to explode, no?

I haven't changed my mind at all since my June 1 post. The Daily Sentiment Index showed only 5% bulls on the S&P 500 as of Friday, so I'm not surprised at all that we're seeing a rip-your-face-off rally with all the short-term players leaning the wrong way. How long it lasts, who can say...I was looking for a rebound back to 1335 on the S&P 500 (it's back to 1307 now), but if it goes higher than that, it's all gravy to me since I've been positioned long of late. It doesn't change the intermediate-term bearish outlook at all as far as I'm concerned. The job of this rally is to squeeze the shorts and sucker people back in before the next shoe drops.

Here's what I said on June 1:

1285 on the S&P now...I suspect we'll see a short-term bottom within the next week (probably in the 1250-1275 range) [update: the low thus far was 1267] which will set up a counter-trend bounce back up to the low-to-mid 1300s, which means it's probably worth gritting your teeth and hanging on for a rebound, as sentiment is very negative here and the odds of a bounce are growing. Materials stocks are outperforming today as some people are jumping the gun on QE3 speculation.

I think the upcoming counter-trend rally will just set us up for an even bigger decline later in the year, though, and will probably be investors' best and last chance to sell at respectable levels.
"Stability begets instability...the more stable things appear, the more dangerous the ultimate outcome will be, because people start to assume everything will be all right and end up doing stupid things." - Dr. Hyman Minsky