The Common Man
meets
Regular People

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Here Now
 Originally Posted By: thirdgreenham
 Originally Posted By: delekkerste
 Originally Posted By: comicdonna
I would prefer to own gold as well. Only problem is I can buy a large 10 oz bar of silver or a 5 gram bar of gold. The silver bar is much more impressive. I have to use a magnifying glass to see the bar of gold.

BTW, silver doesn't tarnish if properly sealed airtight.

The fact that silver tarnishes at all just shows how inferior a "precious" metal it is.

Silver is seductive because you can buy a lot of it with a little bit of money. But, sooner or later the realization sets in that the stuff is totally ubiquitous and not that valuable except in massive quantities. A 10 oz. bar is worth less than $200. A 100 oz. bar of silver is worth all of about $1,750. A 500 oz. Monster Box of Silver Eagles or Maples can be had for about $10K. You'd need over half a freakin' ton of silver just to buy that Action #1 6.0 that ComicConnect sold last year. doh\!

There's no question that silver is inferior to gold, none at all. A little bit difficult to store, yes, but when that's all you can afford, then silver is what you buy.

If people lose faith in the USD and if we go back to some kind of barter system, gold and then silver will race to the forefront. The mid-class will be trading in silver and the high-class will be trading in gold. The common folk who don't have either will be trying to get by however they can.

I don't have a lot of gold or silver, but I have a lot of guns and ammo. I think that will be useful. Also, the common folk will be able to barter with all the practical skills they posses, the high class have none and the mid-class, who probably pushed a lot of paper will be fairly useless,too, other than as food or slaves, like the high class.

RIP Rick, my best buddy.9/8/37-8/28/14

#3690864 - 01/02/10 07:42 PM Re: Gold Price Hits $500/oz. [Re: The Black Hand]
truthteller Offline
Instigator