Page 1 of 2 12>
Topic Options
#9790572 - 02/05/17 03:17 AM Graders use microscope when grade coins?
toyonakataro Offline
Up 20 words per minute since I signed up

Loc: Japan
I read a bolg by a Japanese dealer stating how precisely fake coins are made these days.
He says some coins are hard to tell their authenticity without using microscope and that he detected some fake Japanese coins in genuine (PCGS / NGC) slabs.

I think I have read somewhere that graders usually grade coins just with their naked eyes, but I may be wrong.

#9790618 - 02/05/17 07:19 AM Re: Graders use microscope when grade coins? [Re: toyonakataro]
MarkFeld Offline
Dealer
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Texas
Hi Taro,

I believe that in the very large majority of cases, graders grade with their naked eye or a glass. And that use of a microscope would be extremely rare.

Edited by MarkFeld (02/05/17 08:37 AM)

Unless otherwise stated, the opinions I express here are my own.

#9790645 - 02/05/17 08:00 AM Re: Graders use microscope when grade coins? [Re: MarkFeld]
toyonakataro Offline
Up 20 words per minute since I signed up

Loc: Japan
Hi Mark
According to his opinion, that would mean grading companies would keep on allowing fake coins into their holders, but have you heared about troubles about that?

#9790651 - 02/05/17 08:18 AM Re: Graders use microscope when grade coins? [Re: toyonakataro]
James_OldeTowne Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: St. Louis, MO
A microscope, or at least a high-powered magnifier, can help immensely in authenticating a coin, for example, to look for an added mintmark. But high magnification is useless for grading. ALL coins look horrible under strong magnification, since tiny, unimportant surface anomalies can look like huge, gaping craters.

My posts express my PERSONAL opinions ONLY. Please respect my right to Freedom of Speech as I respect yours.

#9790776 - 02/05/17 10:03 AM Re: Graders use microscope when grade coins? [Re: James_OldeTowne]
GoldFinger1969 Offline