Page 1 of 2 12>
Topic Options
#9785352 - 02/01/17 08:49 PM Can someone educate me on spotting a cleaned coin?
the_Thing Offline

I'll have your spam. I love it. I'm having spam spam spam spam spam spam spam baked beans spam spam spam and spam!

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: TJ's nightmare
Here is an example. What gives it away. Some are obvious, but I run across a lot that I can't see the reason.

Cleaned NGC Morgan

Ya'll can go to hell, I'm going to Texas.
-David Crockett

#9785358 - 02/01/17 08:51 PM Re: Can someone educate me on spotting a cleaned coin? [Re: the_Thing ]
the_Thing Offline

I'll have your spam. I love it. I'm having spam spam spam spam spam spam spam baked beans spam spam spam and spam!

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: TJ's nightmare
Another one I can't tell has been cleaned, but I'd guess the reverse gives it away? I can see no evidence of cleaning on the obverse.

CLeaned Morgan Dollar

Edited by the_Thing (02/01/17 08:53 PM)

Ya'll can go to hell, I'm going to Texas.
-David Crockett

#9785412 - 02/01/17 09:23 PM Re: Can someone educate me on spotting a cleaned coin? [Re: the_Thing ]
MarkFeld Offline
Dealer
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Texas
 Originally Posted By: the_Thing
Another one I can't tell has been cleaned, but I'd guess the reverse gives it away? I can see no evidence of cleaning on the obverse.

CLeaned Morgan Dollar

Often, a coin needs to be examined in hand and tilted and rotated under a light, in order to detect cleaning. Don't assume that the coin in question has been cleaned on the reverse and not the obverse.

Also, the determination of cleaning can be subjective and inconsistent. Some coins are labeled "cleaned", but later cracked out, resubmitted and graded without the notation of cleaning. Others might not be labeled as cleaned when initially graded, but later cracked out, resubmitted and labeled "cleaned".

Unless otherwise stated, the opinions I express here are my own.