• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

College Savings - buy/sell comics or tax free savings plan??

158 posts in this topic

Serious question. I am no lawyer = I really don't know. Can you legally take your child's inheritance and loan it to a complete stranger ?

I talked to my tax guy today and it would be a pain on a lot of different fronts such as yours so my daughters money is going into a tax savings account. It may not yield the biggest return for her but it will be easier all the way around.

There is no doubt that your daughter will recognize your love and caring and concern for her future by your decision. Maybe not today or tomorrow, but she will.

That is worth far more than 6K.

I agree I have kept mine secret from my kids I cant wait till next year to show them.

My daughter has 5 years until college and received $10,000 in an inheritance that is all going into her college savings before she spends it all on stuff. Here is the question - would you invest it in a tax free college savings plan or use the money to buy and sell books over the next 5 years? I'm not talking about buying a AF 15 and sitting on it for 5 years but the typical flipping situation (buying a collection or gradable books as many times as possible) over the next 5 years.

If she invest the 10k she will hopefully have 15k or so if her investments do really well over the next 5 years but that 10k could be big money if spent wisely on books over the same time frame.

Both options have some inherent risks but which would you pick? I'd like to sit her down and go over the pros/cons on these options and have her make an educated decision and your insight would be appreciated. I'd obviously help her with the comic flipping but I'd make sure she was involved in the process.