• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Newbie questions about resto

19 posts in this topic

Hello all! I am new to comic collecting and investing. I have an opportunity to pick up a nice restored book, but have some questions before I purchase.

The book appears to be between an 8.0-9.0. There is color touch, trim, and a dab of glue on the spine.

1) does the glue on the spine hit the grade at all?

2) does the trim make it worth less? Some comic friends of mine dont like trim and they advised me to turn away. Does it really matter of its trimmed?

3) how much does a restored book go for? Half an unrestored? 20%? Does it depend on the book or level of resto?

Thank you for your time

Trimming is a big turn off for many collectors, as much if not more so than pieces added. It can hurt the value of an otherwise high grade book more than other types of resto, like minor color touch or glue. A trimmed page overhang would probably not be as big a deal as a trimmed cover.

Value is a factor of apparent grade, type and degree of restoration, as well as desirability and scarcity of the book. Era is a factor as well. GA books can find buyers more readily with minor restoration than do later eras. Restored 8.0-9.0 books, especially if Silver Age or later are going to take a much bigger hit than a 2.0 Golden Age.