Page 92 of 93 « First<8990919293>
Topic Options
#9478595 - 07/27/16 01:05 PM Re: Conan Comics [Re: Brian48]
SuperBird Offline
FACT if I stop posting, trillions and trillions of transistors would be out of work.

Call me nuts but my favorite Conan is from Isherwood/ Semeiks.

WTB : Action Comics 23, 29, 31, 37, 38, 44, 46, 49, 50, 51, 52, 57 mid to low grade unrestored CGC

#9478596 - 07/27/16 01:05 PM Re: Conan Comics [Re: Brian48]
Unca Ben Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: California
 Originally Posted By: Brian48
BWS's stuff was best when he did his own inking (and coloring when needed), where as I don't recall Buscema ever inking his own artwork. This obviously made Big John's art very dependent on whomever was his collaborator.

When paired with an able inker like Ernie Chan or Alfredo Alcala, Buscema's work was great. Anyone else, it was just serviceable in my opinion.

By the way, if no one has ever read it, I think this is Buscema's finest work on Conan (with help from Alcala and Marie Severin). "Black Vulmea's Vengeance (Revenge of the Barbarian)" which appeared in Marvel Super Special #2 (a key Conan book in my opinion).

http://diversionsofthegroovykind.blogspot.com/2008/12/stocking-stuffer-marvel-super-special-2.html

The entire issue is posted online if you want read it or just look at the artwork.

John Buscema did ink his own work in some issues of the Avengers, Conan the Barbarian & Savage Sword.

edit: & Tarzan.

Edited by Unca Ben (07/27/16 01:08 PM)

"You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view - until you climb into his skin and walk around in it."
"Before I can live with other folks I've got to live with myself."
"The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience."
"It's not okay to hate anybody."
"Bad language is a stage all children go through, and it dies with time when they learn they're not attracting attention with it."
-Atticus Finch