• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Why is it harder to collect art from the 90s than it should be?
2 2

91 posts in this topic

Bronty's recent poll struck an epiphany for me. My "golden age" of comic reading was between 1990-1996, half of the decade that most people seem to blow off. I've been collecting OA for over 3 years now, and yet, I virtually having nothing in my collection from that era, at least nothing that I actually read the month it was released. Three years of collecting and I still can't find my focus. Do I want to go 90s nostalgia? All vintage? Very modern? Commissions? You get it. I just realized that it's tough to get quality art from the 90s.

My top three artists/books I'd love to get examples of are Mike Allred's Madman, Sam Kieth's The Maxx, and Kelley Jones "Bat" art. Madman pages are out there, but they don't pop up very often. But Kieth and James Sinclair have held on to every issue of the Maxx except for #1/2. Jones doesn't let go of his artwork either. And if you're a Jeff Smith Bone fan, you're out of luck. I don't see pages from Terry Moore's Strangers in Paradise.

I have trouble finding Knightfall pages, pages from 90s Punisher and Wolverine (the Marc Silverstri stuff). Can't find JRJR Punisher War Journal pages. Nor early Sleepwalker or Darkhawk (I'm already "slumming" it at this point!). Forget "Death of Superman" pages from the issue. I can go on.