• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How to spot restoration....?
17 17

326 posts in this topic

I have a question, when is a cover being cleaned considered resto and when is it just like a press and does not lead to a Purple label?

Thanks,

-Kystix

When a cover is "wet" cleaned using solvents, water baths, etc. it's considered restoration. When a cover is "dry" cleaned using brushes, erasers, cloth, etc. it is not considered restoration.

Neither are like a press, but the wet leads to purple whilst the dry leads to blue (unless there's something hinky like a detached staple or a signature that's not been witnessed....then it it'd lead to a green (qualified) label.

That's my understanding, but I'm not an expert. I'm sure there are a billion folks here more knowledgeable than I.

I have a question, when is a cover being cleaned considered resto and when is it just like a press and does not lead to a Purple label?

Thanks,

-Kystix

When a cover is "wet" cleaned using solvents, water baths, etc. it's considered restoration. When a cover is "dry" cleaned using brushes, erasers, cloth, etc. it is not considered restoration.

Neither are like a press, but the wet leads to purple whilst the dry leads to blue (unless there's something hinky like a detached staple or a signature that's not been witnessed....then it it'd lead to a green (qualified) label.

That's my understanding, but I'm not an expert. I'm sure there are a billion folks here more knowledgeable than I.

Thank you.

Hi, newbie here!

I just put in my first submission to CGC...anxiously checking the status...the first 4 on the CGC coupon have been Verified...