Page 1 of 8 12345>Last »
Topic Options
#893496 - 08/30/05 05:05 AM Back boards - shiny side or dull side? THE MYSTERY REVEALED!
FFB Offline

At long last I feel regular.

TOTAL NEWBIE

As many of you know, the eternal question among comic collectors who don't want to incur the cost of calcium carbonate buffered back boards is, "Do I put my comics against the shiny side or the dull side?" Many times this has been debated, with no clear answer.

Well, now there's an answer. I recently bought a pH detection pencil and used it on two back boards. The back boards are relatively new, having been purchased within the last six months or so from Russ at comicsupply.com. I followed the instructions that came with the pencil and tested the pH levels on the shiny side of a back board that I pulled out of the middle of a a previously unopened ream of back boards and on the dull side of the back board that was right next to the first one I pulled from the middle of the stack.

For those who don't know, on the pH scale, a lower number means that the item is more acidic and a higher number means that it is less acidic (alkaline). A pH reading of 7 means that the item is neutral, neither acidic nor alkaline.

I don't know how well these colors will show up on your monitor, but by my eyeballing the color scale, the dull side registered a pH of approximately 5, and the shiny side registered a pH of about 7 to 7.5. Thus, the shiny side appears to be the "non-acidic" side of the back board, while the dull side appears to be quite acidic by comparison. So, if you've been putting your books against the dull side of non-buffered back boards, you've got your books on the wrong side!

#893497 - 08/30/05 05:06 AM Re: Back boards - shiny side or dull side? THE MYSTERY REVEALED! [Re: FFB]
fable Offline
Collectosaurus Rex

Loc: UK
That's a relief

#893498 - 08/30/05 05:22 AM Re: Back boards - shiny side or dull side? THE MYSTERY REVEALED! [Re: fable]
ComicSupply Offline