• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

All things Valiant.

133 posts in this topic

Like many, I didn't collect Valiant until Unity 0.

Even though, ironically, my first ever issue of Previews listed Magnus 1 as a "Gem of the Month" _and_ when it came out, my LCS flagged Magnus 1 as their "favorite book of the month."

I flipped through it & put it back -- I liked superhero, and this was sci-fi, more akin to Buck Rogers or Star Trek.

Fast forward to Unity 0 & insanity. I went away to summer camp for 6 weeks and when I came back had to pay $8 for Unity 1 (regular).

Fast forward a few years to 1997, I'm a freshman in college & Shadowman (vol. 2) # 1 is my favorite book of the year. Why? Garth Ennis.

Zero, a stonecold psychopath, walks into a bar, tells the bartender "bear" & the bartender pours him his usual drink & brings out the teddy bear he keeps at the bar. WTF?

The point -- Valiant was a large part of my comic collecting childhood, and even some of the later Acclaim stuff (Shadowman Vol. 2-3, Quantum & Woody, even later Troublemakers) was really good, even as it remains ignored by speculators.

Happy to see the pre-Unity stuff get their due again.

In all those years, I've yet to see Harbinger 1 in a $1 box.

But I'm proud to have scored Magnus 1 & 12 from the $1 box, and found Unity 0 (red) for $4.

Thank you, sir. Much appreciated. So, would your 10.0 Rai be the Action 1 of the Valiant universe?

Nope, it wouldn't be a copy of Rai #0... but I'm not sure what the correct answer would be... but it might be fun to follow the white rabbit down that rabbit hole. lol

Action #1 was the start of the whole superhero genre.

The single best copy of Action #1 is the "best copy for the first issue of the whole superhero genre".