• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

archival boxes for long term comic storage?
1 1

25 posts in this topic

Hi everyone. I am relatively new to collecting comics and therefore I have a beginners question regarding long term storage of comics. I apologize if this has been asked and answered before. Anyway, I would like to keep my comics in the best condition for as long as possible. I already have them bagged in mylar bags and they have backing boards as well. But leaving them like that is not preferable to me due to the space they take. So I'd like to store them in comic boxes, but unfortunately where I live there are no comic boxes to buy. My next best option are archival boxes like the ones here:

http://www.packingsolution.co.uk/product/ps08/

The boxes I intend to buy are of suitable size for my comics, but I am not sure if it's ok to store them in these kind of boxes or I should look specifically for comic book boxes? Thanks for clarifying.

99% of comic boxes are standard cardboard with a white exterior.

There is little or no chemical difference between them and the box you linked or even an all kraft (brown) cardboard box. Double wide boxes generally don't have the strength of comic boxes.

I know they are expensive :/ What is my best alternative then?

I use short boxes made of corrugated plastic. Acid-free / resistant to water and vermin

Bags Unlimited

Also, follow the link below to read our "noob" guide. It's got a ton of information, including additional reading on archival safe storage. Welcome to the boards!

Noob Guide

Do no dealers in the UK stock comic boxes?

Yes, they do.

Not sure if I'm allowed to link to e-bay pages so I shall err on the side of caution and advise zonk to search for Silver Age Comic Boxes there.