• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Amazing Spider-Man Collecting Thread!
37 37

14,436 posts in this topic

Thanks for all of the information and diverse opinions, guys. I just reached ASM 340 in my quest to read all of the Spideys, including Peter Parker, MTU, and Web. A quest which my friend Darth Korgi has also undertaken. The stories are still enjoyable, but I've reached 1990 now and I'm a little worried about what's coming up next. The 90's have a not-so-great reputation.

Thanks for this information, guys.

Great post! I'd love to have all of those comics, but mostly have Spider-Man issues from 1971 onward, with a handful prior to those thrown in. Luckily Marvel Tales and Essential Spider-Man fills in the holes.

But why did you get rid of the issues after 441? Just curious. I'm new to this board and have recently been reading Spider-Man from the very beginning. I've not reached those issues yet (I'm just finishing up the 80's).

I've heard some bad things about Marvel in the 90s and am a little worried I won't like them.

It's a very easy place to stop because of the renumbering, I haven't bought anything past #441 for my collection either.

I know some people out there will think I am crazy for saying this, but for me there is no point in collecting anything beyond McFarlane's run on ASM.

You're crazy for saying that.

Is there really anything between 328 and 441 that you need to own? I am not saying there's nothing worth reading, I am saying that in my opinion there's not really anything worth collecting in the last 25 years. Yes, the first appearance of Carnage might be the exception. Still, that leaves the last 23 years. I guess I'm just old school.

#344,361,400,408 Variant, 430,431,432 Variant......and that's just up to #441.

410 too...