• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Earliest comic shops?

103 posts in this topic

Gary Arlington opened the San Francisco Comic Book Store in 1968. When my family moved into the neighborhood in 1971, I became a regular customer and spend all the extra cash there. All the great underground artists met at his shop. Even though my funds were limited, he never kicked me out. Gary had a stroke recently and retired. He has one of the best raw EC collections around and is still looking for Tale of Terror Annual #1.

In August 1972, Bud Plant, the late John Barrett, and Bob Beerbohm co-founded Comics & Comix in Berkeley. I was a student at UC Berkeley from 1973-1976 and visited the shop several times a week.

Raymond, I think I can top you. Ever go to Mickey's out on Clement Street? No idea when it opened, but I'm pretty sure it was closed by 1964.

7e94b2eb-95b7-4cb6-9387-d4101e16a44a_zpse5a95a86.jpg

IMG_0067_zps34e71af6.jpg

I was born and raised in Kitchener, Ontario, Canada. One of the most famous comic book stores was the Now & Then Books on Queen Street in the downtown core of Kitchener.

Now & Then Books was a comic shop in Kitchener, Ontario, Canada. Founded by Harry Kremer and Bill Johnson, it was one of the earliest comic shops to operate in North America, and employed Dave Sim before he began his comic book series Cerebus. The Harry Kremer Retailer Award at the Joe Shuster Awards was named in honour of co-founder Harry Kremer, who died in 2002.

George Henderson's Memory Lane, the country's first comic shop, opened in Toronto in 1967. Inspired by it, Now & Then Books was opened on Queen Street in Kitchener by Harry Kremer and Bill Johnson in 1971. Kremer soon took over complete ownership of the store.