Page 21 of 27 « First<1920212223>Last »
Topic Options
#3453843 - 09/15/09 01:23 AM Re: How to spot restoration....? [Re: sassemble]
Aces Offline

Seemed lonely sitting around with no custom title.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Phil's Parking Lot
 Originally Posted By: sassemble

I bought it at a show in 1990 in central New Jersey. I really don't remember who I bought it from. It really is a nice copy. I don't know what the grade is but I was hoping for at least a 6 and probably a 7. I'm not particularly adept at finding trimming. I probably opened the book up maybe two or three times since I bought it, so I don't know about the coloring.
It kind of puts a damper on it. However, I do have Avengers #3 and #6 in the order that comes from the same batch as my 9.4 #4, so it shouldn't be a total loss.
Thanks for your info.

\:o \(worship\)

My Auctions

Board Feedback

#3466344 - 09/21/09 01:18 AM Re: How to spot restoration....? [Re: Aces]
sassemble Offline
Chatzilla

Just checked on my order and my "restored" Avengers No. 1 graded at 5.0. A disappointment for sure. The better news is that my "unrestored" No. 3 graded at 9.0 and my No. 6 is 9.4!
Again, thanks for the info guys.

#3812377 - 02/23/10 12:55 AM Re: How to spot restoration....? [Re: sassemble]
Ze-man Moderator Offline

I offend someone, on some level, somewhere

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Zionsville
I was working on a book this week and thought it served as a good example of Amatuer resto, mainly glued shut tears and what to look for when buying a raw book. So before I worked on it I took some photos of the old work done.

Most of this may be obvious to many, but not so much to a others so take from it what you will.

First up shows a taped interior spine, if the tape visibly goes from front to back on the interior side, it means the cover was removed to do so. Hard to really tell in the photo, but the disclolored tape is somewhat visible.