Page 9 of 66 « First<7891011>Last »
Topic Options
#690834 - 03/11/05 02:01 PM Blondie Comics [Re: adamstrange]
Scrooge Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Midwest
# 19
Blondie # 40 - Purchased at an antique mall (with a missing centerfold )

Content:

Never Say Dye by "Chic Young" 5 pgs
Pattern of Life by "Chic Young" 5 pgs
Lost and Found by "Chic Young" 4 pgs
Light Work by "Chic Young" 4 pgs

I think we are all well acquainted with this character and I don't need to present him (I'll have to do that more tomorrow with a character and an interesting twist). What has always amazed me in the world of strips is the consistency and longevity of the creative team. Take a look at Blondie: the strip started in 1930. Over the ensuing 75 years, the strip has been in the creative hands of two main people: Chic Young and his son Dean Young. The main artists and assistants list isn't much larger either: Chic Young, Dean Young, Jim Raymond, Stan Drake and Denis Lebrun. For this history, check the official strip site or the strip's summary at Toonopedia.

Here's a sample splash from the book:

In keeping with my interest in In-House ads, here's the advertised line-up for Harvey. Can you pick out the incongruous book in this line-up?

A little help: which book shows an attractive woman in bondage in the midst of wholesome characters? Yup, Black Cat Mystery!

More strip trivia: Jim Raymond was Alex's brother and Chic's younger brother Lyman Young created Tim Tyler's Luck.

Collection trivia: if I find one of the books I need at an antique mall, I will buy it no matter what the condition is (proof above) just to show that these books are still floating around.