Page 2 of 6 <12345>Last »
Topic Options
#5718813 - 05/27/12 07:48 AM Re: Why does McFarlane's Marvel stuff get such a bad rub from most people? [Re: Chuck Gower]
Bosco685 Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: USA
 Originally Posted By: Chuck Gower
But being one of the biggest superstar artists of the time; being as outspoken as he was (remember the McFarlane/Peter David debate?); and on top of that, becoming as successful as he did; it sort of makes him the #1 target of blame to anyone who looks at how the industry changed and collecting changed during that period.
And of course it led to a market implosion that we still haven't recovered from.

The ongoing court case with Gaiman didn't make McFarlane look the best either.

\:p

#5718824 - 05/27/12 07:59 AM Re: Why does McFarlane's Marvel stuff get such a bad rub from most people? [Re: Bosco685]
Chuck Gower Online   content
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: MO/IL
 Originally Posted By: Bosco685
But being one of the biggest superstar artists of the time; being as outspoken as he was (remember the McFarlane/Peter David debate?); and on top of that, becoming as successful as he did; it sort of makes him the #1 target of blame to anyone who looks at how the industry changed and collecting changed during that period.
And of course it led to a market implosion that we still haven't recovered from.

No it didn't, though that came a bit later.
Todd needs to stay away from the court's or get a new lawyer. I don't think he's won anything he's gone to court for!

A link to my eBay store!

http://Support-the-Collectors-Society.com/chugow/

THIS WEEK: ARCHIE #42
Street Date: December 1949

#5718841 - 05/27/12 08:10 AM Re: Why does McFarlane's Marvel stuff get such a bad rub from most people? [Re: Chuck Gower]
Bosco685 Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: USA
But I do feel this was one of the more creative signatures on a cover that I have seen.

#5718982 - 05/27/12 09:57 AM Re: Why does McFarlane's Marvel stuff get such a bad rub from most people? [Re: Bosco685]