Page 1 of 3 123>
Topic Options
#5648921 - 05/03/12 11:21 AM Tales of Suspense #39 (first appearance of iron man)
shine_pittsy Offline
If I just sell the car, I can up my bid...

Loc: Peterborough, Canada
Recently was shocked by the grade this got. Grader notes said: Spine readers crease, spine wear, right center front cover lite crease, bottom back cover small lite stain, center back cover lite crease...

WHITE PAGES, 7.0

Picture is the best I can do for now, shows camera flash...

How bad does these factors affect a grade? And would pressing it improve the grade? (Don't care about opinion of right and wrong on pressing, just if it would help). Thanks.

Attachments
125532.jpg
Description:

125533.jpg
Description:

Edited by shine_pittsy (05/03/12 12:23 PM)

#5648938 - 05/03/12 11:26 AM Re: Tales of Suspense #1 (first appearance of iron man) [Re: shine_pittsy]
sufunk Offline

It used to at least change but now its just stuck on TOTAL NEWBIE forever.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Davie, Florida
Well, thats a TOS 39 not #1

Stains and creases get HAMMERED by CGC ime. What you think is a small crease, CGC can and will drop the grade much farther than you might think it should.

As to pressing, it depends if the creases break color. if they do, a press isnt going to help. If they dont break color, a press might take them out.

What was the grade that book got?

#5648973 - 05/03/12 11:41 AM Re: Tales of Suspense #39 (first appearance of iron man) [Re: shine_pittsy]
etanick Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Sarasota
tough to tell from those 2 pics but since the grade was lower than what you expected, I am throwing out a wag of 5.5 based on the notes.

#5648979 - 05/03/12 11:43 AM Re: Tales of Suspense #1 (first appearance of iron man) [Re: sufunk]
shine_pittsy Offline

It received a 7... respectful but still... I have been tracking this one comic on Heritage auctions, and the comic looks way worse than mine.

Attachments
lf.jpeg (97 downloads)
Description: