Page 2 of 24 <12345>Last »
Topic Options
#5641261 - 04/30/12 05:50 PM Re: Calgary Comic Expo 2012 Stunning [Re: Chip Cataldo]
aardvark88 Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: O Canada
 Originally Posted By: Robot Brainiac
Sounds like so much fun.
Chip

It is a LOT of prep work. Will take you at least 1 full month to grade and price your vintage comics plus 1 week to figure out how to build/erect a wall display, arrange for booth space, hotel, parking, food, gas bill for mini-van or big SUV, etc.

#5641277 - 04/30/12 05:53 PM Re: Calgary Comic Expo 2012 Stunning [Re: Chip Cataldo]
thehumantorch Online   happy

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Alberta Canada
I would kill to be able to do this stuff! Sounds like so much fun.

Peace,

Chip

It is fun but it is a ton of work. Try it for a few shows and you will soon have a great deal of respect for dealers. Load in and load out is tiring and a 3 day show is a physical and mental grind. And a dealer doesn't just show up and rake in the money. He spends many hours buying inventory, grading and pricing and bagging and boarding and preparing for the show. Then he has to put on a smile and listen to low ball offers, tell people how much their Spawn #1 is really worth and direct people to the bathroom or ATM.

My CAF

THIS JUST IN

#5641284 - 04/30/12 05:54 PM Re: Calgary Comic Expo 2012 Stunning [Re: aardvark88]

TOTAL NEWBIE

Originally Posted By: aardvark88
Sounds like so much fun.
Chip

It is a LOT of prep work. Will take you at least 1 full month to grade and price your vintage comics plus 1 week to figure out how to build/erect a wall display, arrange for booth space, hotel, parking, food, gas bill for mini-van or big SUV, etc.

Dead on. Not to mention buying hundreds of $$ worth of bags and boards. I spent at least a month preparing for this show.

My CAF

THIS JUST IN

#5641299 - 04/30/12 05:57 PM Re: Calgary Comic Expo 2012 Stunning [Re: thehumantorch]
Chip Cataldo Online   content