Page 5 of 7 « First<34567>
Topic Options
#5597416 - 04/13/12 09:32 AM Re: Axl Rose is a @#$%^ [Re: goldust40]
delekkerste Offline

James Bond wears a Rolex...the rest is just product placement.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: New York, NY
 Originally Posted By: goldust40
Rose may go on and on about how great his current band is, but creatively he is more or less finished, and is basically coasting on the classic material he co-wrote with the original line-up(s) 20 or so years ago.

I think Chinese Democracy was actually a pretty good album - certainly better than 95% of the "rock" albums that come out nowadays. True, it didn't live up to expectations, but, really, how could it after the years and years of anticipation? Still, there are some really solid tracks on the album...songs like "This I Love", "Better" and "Prostitute" I think are better than a lot of the material on the UYIllusion albums.

As for Axl's comments, as a huge fan of the band (I've seen them live 6x, including the band's longest and most epic concert performance ever at the L.A. Forum in 1991, as chronicled in Slash's excellent autobiography), of course I'm disappointed about Axl's continuing unwillingness to reconcile. That said, if there are lingering unresolved issues, if I was Axl, I don't know that I'd want to get back together with my former bandmates for a night, let alone a reunion tour, either. I mean, I'm sure most of us here have had former a-hole bosses or co-workers at previous jobs who we'd rather not see, let alone work with again, if we didn't have to.