Page 1 of 33 12345>Last »
Topic Options
#5575562 - 04/04/12 06:06 PM Shark's Surgery Sale #2
Shark Online   content
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Oklahoma City, OK
As most of you remember, last January (2011) I had a big sale trying to raise enough funds to have my thyroid surgery. I have a number of both large and small nodules in both sides of my thyroid gland. I sell comics full-time for a living now and haven't had health insurance since Oct. 2010.

The initial plan was to have the surgery at Midwest Regional Hospital. Shortly after I had my initial sale, I found out about a supposedly reduced cost plan at OU Medical Center. So I've been going to OU since last March. Since then, I've visited OU about the thyroid gland problem at least 5 or 6 times and had 2 more ultrasounds and 2 more FNAs (fine needle aspirations - they extract cells from the nodules) performed. The last FNA was done last Tuesday and I got the results today.

They extracted cells from a smaller, less defined nodule on the right side and it was determined to be benign. They also extracted cells from the largest nodule on the left side but due to hemmorhaging of the nodule (too much blood) they couldn't determine whether that side was cancerous or not. So to be safe they're finally saying "Out it comes". The plan is to remove all of the thyroid gland except for a sliver of the right side so that I continue to produce hormones.