Page 12 of 17 « First<1011121314>Last »
Topic Options
#5571374 - 04/02/12 11:28 PM Re: Comic Connect auction for April- Big books, no buzz? [Re: DavidMerryweather]
buttock Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: gettin jiggly wit it
 Originally Posted By: DavidMerryweather
 Originally Posted By: buttock
I *gulp* actually agree with Mitch on this one. (I feel so ashamed).

The check did nothing but transfer the rights from S&S to National. It really doesn't have a whole lot of historic significance. Superman was well established at this point. It's not far off from having a copy of the contract from when Warner Bros acquired DC.

While I respect your's and Mitch's POV, I think you are both dead wrong on this, and keep in mind that I'm not a DC or Superman collector.

The significance of the check is in the history it supports. If there were no check there may not have been Superman, at least in a published form recognizable to comic collectors and the world today!

The check is the establishing connection that provides a foundation for the entire comic book history. Before DC issued this check and S&S decided to accept it there had been several failed attempts to sell the idea to a newspaper syndicate; it wasn't like the competition would've paid more or even given a second thought to publishing the character.

Afterwards it could be argued that DC didn't treat Superman's creators well, but it is doubtful that any publisher would have paid more in 1938 for an unproven character given the number of rejections Superman had received. In fact, it's an amazing testament to luck and the historical significance of this one insignificant check that Superman exists today!

Whoops, it's been a while since I looked at the check. I had it in my mind that it was from a later date after Superman had been on the stands for several years.

THANK GOD I don't agree with Mitch. I was really in a conundrum there!