Page 2 of 2 <12
Topic Options
#5512483 - 03/10/12 11:47 AM Re: Bought some pirate gold Finally and decided to start a set [Re: HiHoAudio]
kryptonitecomics Offline
First Official Signature Set
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: O-Town Baby! Home of the Magic
I saw a lot of the ducats while searching but I really didn't like the reverse design with just a bunch of writing etc.

EBAY LINK
http://Support-the-Collectors-Society.com/sch/kryptonitecomics/m.html?_dmd=1&_ipg=50&_sop=1&_rdc=1

#5514977 - 03/11/12 01:22 PM Re: Bought some pirate gold Finally and decided to start a set [Re: HiHoAudio]
mkman123 Offline
If you have a dream about out-posting me, you better wake up and apologize.

I've been tempted to do the same thing but want a 8 escudo, the ones you got......maybe I should get some

#5570648 - 04/02/12 06:27 PM Re: Bought some pirate gold Finally and decided to start a set [Re: mkman123]
8realescudos Offline
Learning the Ropes

Nice coins. There are some really undervalued coins in the "minor" gold coins of the Spanish Colonies, especially in the 2 and 4 escudos. I'd recommend concentrating on them as much as possible if your budget will allow. With the exception of the Segovia and Seville Mints in Spain, which started minting milled coinage well before all the other mints (Segovia early 1600s and Seville in 1699), the milled coinage started in Spain and Mexico in the 1730s and basically around 1750 in most other South American mint so your search will begin with those dates, as a general rule, later dates are cheaper. All these dates are approx and from memory which ain't what it used to be.

AFA 8 escudos go, considering that each one has approximately 1200 dollars worth of gold melt in it, you're not likely to find one on the cheap anymore.