Page 3 of 1015 <12345>Last »
Topic Options
#550751 - 09/09/04 12:43 AM Re: Recent Pre-Code Purchases [Re: shrunkenhead]
shrunkenhead Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: The Scorched Earth/Texas
Oh, and yep, I've got the TTTT set, although at the time I didn't know you could get it for $25 in one shot and instead put the set together myself at about $50. Ah well, one could blow money in worse ways! Great set to own. I saw an ad once for another reprint title called Extinct...anybody know about that one? I've yet to track it down.

#550752 - 09/09/04 12:45 AM Re: Recent Pre-Code Purchases [Re: *paull*]
rjpb Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Socal
I don't actively look for Ajax/Farrell books (except for Fantastic Fears #6 - which I never see), but it has seemed that they are more likely than some other pre-code publishers to be low grade based on my casual obsevance.

As for my own collecting preferences, I used to pick up higher grade pre-code books now and then, if they were the first copy I found, back when they were still pretty cheap, but these days when I buy them they're usually in the 2.0 to 5.0 range. If I own a GA or Atom Age book in 4.0 or better, I don't feel any urge to upgrade, and I can't resist lower grade when the price is right.

#550753 - 09/09/04 01:07 AM Re: Recent Pre-Code Purchases [Re: rjpb]
shrunkenhead Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: The Scorched Earth/Texas
I typically look for GA in the 6.0-8.0 range, although I'll go in for a VG if it's a classic cover or key. Higher than an 8.0 is getting too damn expensive, but there are such wonderful deals to be had in the mid-grade zone. I've picked up a few mid grade CGC copies at under guide prices (pre code horror under guide!?!) on ebay, thanks to the 9.4 craze. Once people start to snap out of their stupor and realize that you can't find certain books anywhere in anything higher than a F/VF, I expect prices to shoot up again.

#550754 - 09/09/04 01:48 AM Re: Recent Pre-Code Purchases [Re: *paull*]
Bonds25 Offline