• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What are you Reading now ..... other than comics ?
7 7

1,854 posts in this topic

Finished David Copperfield last year, now reading Oliver Twist. Wanted to get into the classics.

I've read neither. I've been a poor Dickens reader. I've been thinking about him forever. Recently something John Ruskin wrote got me thinking about Hard Times. I'm envious of your book choice. I say read all of his books in chronological order by publication date. I doubt you'll regret a page of it & your bookshelf will thank you for it the rest of your days.

+1 I have a degree in English Lit and have never read a Dickens book cover to cover. It's sad and dumb on my part. I just can't get off George R.R. Martin right now. Some classics maybe in a couple of months. :wishluck:

Dickens is booooring. Not Faulkner boring, but boring none-the-less.

I too am hooked into the wonderful world of Westeros, courtesy of Martin, right now.

GRRM will start in about 4 - 5 weeks.

I'm thinking about going right into King's Dark Tower series & then the Stand right after GRRM.

The DT series was my favorite until I read A Game of Thrones. You have some very solid reading lined up. (thumbs u

Finally finished "My 'Dam Life" by Sean Condon and "The Historian" by Elizabeth Kostova about a week ago. Now concurrently reading "How to Start and Run a Commercial Art Gallery" by Edward Winkleman and "Jack the Ripper and the Case for Scotland Yard's Prime Suspect" by Robert House.

"Jack the Ripper and the Case for Scotland Yard's Prime Suspect" by Robert House.

No need to read that. It was an intricate conspiracy to hush down a potential royal bas- scandal. Jack was really a rogue Mason doctor. (thumbs u

"Jack the Ripper and the Case for Scotland Yard's Prime Suspect" by Robert House.