Page 3 of 65 <12345>Last »
Topic Options
#5175903 - 10/22/11 11:31 PM Re: Lichtenstein Comic Inspired Art Estimated at $35-45 Million [Re: aman619]
comix4fun Offline

This is one of the rare times that having no friends works in my favor.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Under The Serious Moonlight
 Originally Posted By: aman619

They are now a part of art history.

I wanted to make special note of this comment.

Yes they aren't the first creators and they won't be the last creators to find themselves ground between the gears of "art history". They are the mortar and the foundation. The penthouse wouldn't exist without them but they never get the credit that they deserve from the people sitting on top.

"That's my secret.....I'm always angry."

"I wake up in the morning and I *spoon* excellence. I am just a big, hairy, American, winning machine."

#5175929 - 10/22/11 11:51 PM Re: Lichtenstein Comic Inspired Art Estimated at $35-45 Million [Re: aman619]
comix4fun Offline

TOTAL NEWBIE

If this were to happen to today's artists....you'd see a different outcome.

Original on the left.......Lichtenstein on the right

A French artist named Erro tried to play the exact same tune on one of Brian Bolland's covers last year.

Mr. Bolland slammed the piano lid down on him so hard that I doubt he'll be trying to pull that again.

Artists today are far more savvy about their rights, and protecting their IP than they were when many of these pieces were created. I don't think we'll see anything this blatant, or on this scale again.

"I wake up in the morning and I *spoon* excellence. I am just a big, hairy, American, winning machine."

#5175935 - 10/22/11 11:53 PM Re: Lichtenstein Comic Inspired Art Estimated at $35-45 Million [Re: comix4fun]
*paull* Offline
Pedigreed

Loc: USA
The 20th century has a lot of artist frauds, but Lichtenstein is probably the head of the pack.