Page 1 of 2 12>
Topic Options
#4858288 - 06/09/11 10:10 AM Whats the going rate per page for a comic book artist these days ?
Senormac Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Oregon
I imagine artists work out their own business negotiations these days ....or do they? I think it used to be that the Comic Book publishers like Marvel, DC.... Dark Horse.....whoever, paid a per page rate, but I'm not sure. Anyone have any experience or information on this ?

How about the writer per page or does he work per -script ?

#4858324 - 06/09/11 10:30 AM Re: Whats the going rate per page for a comic book artist these days ? [Re: Senormac]
comix4fun Offline

This is one of the rare times that having no friends works in my favor.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Under The Serious Moonlight
 Originally Posted By: Senormac
I imagine artists work out their own business negotiations these days ....or do they? I think it used to be that the Comic Book publishers like Marvel, DC.... Dark Horse.....whoever, paid a per page rate, but I'm not sure. Anyone have any experience or information on this ?

It's a scale, there isn't a set number. Marvel and DC, and other publishers, have pricing scales per page.

For artists there are pencil rates, ink rates, paint rates, etc.

However, there are also a ton of other factors that go into how an artist gets paid at the end of it all (royalties, incentives, etc.) that make it almost impossible to say "An artist will get paid $X per page".

"That's my secret.....I'm always angry."

"I wake up in the morning and I *spoon* excellence. I am just a big, hairy, American, winning machine."

#4858350 - 06/09/11 10:41 AM Re: Whats the going rate per page for a comic book artist these days ? [Re: comix4fun]
sd2416 Offline
I was posting here when you were in diapers.

Loc: Little Rock, Arkansas
I had always thought it was based of the sales/popularity of the book.
ASM/UXM will pay more then Quasar.