Page 1 of 2 12>
Topic Options
#4805110 - 05/15/11 06:44 PM Noob Question: PCGS Satin Finish vs. NGC SMS
alexanderzlenz Offline
Hobbyist

Fairly new to this certified collecting. Can one of you kind folks please tell me the differences between the NGC SMS designation and the PCGS Satin Finish designation?

I have recently started a Circulated Lincoln registry set and I've noticed SMS coins are listed starting in 2005. I like the idea of having various examples of each years Lincolns but am not very familiar with the SMS/Satin Finish definitions.

Thanks for any info!

Alex

#4805178 - 05/15/11 07:11 PM Re: Noob Question: PCGS Satin Finish vs. NGC SMS [Re: alexanderzlenz]
cpm9ball Offline

At this point, I feel I should interject something of little importance in the midst of this very educational Q&A.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: South Florida
It means the same thing. It's just that both companies use their own terminology. The Mint began using the satin finish in 2005 expressly for the Uncirculated Mint Sets, but they continued to make business strikes for general circulation that did not have a satin finish. Just within the last year or two, the Mint discontinued using the satin finish on the Mint Sets.

Chris

"THE PERSON WHO CAN LAUGH AT HIMSELF ALWAYS LAUGHS LAST!

Joseph P. Machuga, February 28, 1915 - December 12, 1997
Frances L. Machuga, January 2, 1921 - September 29, 2006
Married: December 6, 1941
I love you, both.

#4805208 - 05/15/11 07:27 PM Re: Noob Question: PCGS Satin Finish vs. NGC SMS [Re: cpm9ball]
alexanderzlenz Offline
Hobbyist

I thought it was the same thing, thank you for the clarification.

Started in 2005, and I guess they ended it in 2011 for the registry sets have 2010 SMS coins listed.

This is very helpful for my 2005-2010 cent collecting then.

Appreciate it.

#4805244 - 05/15/11 07:53 PM Re: Noob Question: PCGS Satin Finish vs. NGC SMS [Re: alexanderzlenz]
Chris1976 Offline
Talkative?

Loc: North Georgia