Page 76 of 254 « First<7475767778>Last »
Topic Options
#4633080 - 02/28/11 08:34 AM Re: In the beginning...There were expansions... [Re: BeachBum]
DrWatson Offline

"What are you armed with?"
"Guess."
"Guess?"

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Twatosaurus rex
 Originally Posted By: BeachBum
 Originally Posted By: cheetah
 Originally Posted By: DrWatson
 Originally Posted By: NewEnglandGothic
It just makes me so for set collectors trying to keep a focus in this economy, when I see requests for these inner "advertisements".

I agree. What ultimately burned me on the X-Men sets was those stupid pressman books. Ugh. \:p

Originally Posted By: NewEnglandGothic
I get even more , when I see requests from boardies who have the books for sale too.

What cheeky monkey basturds. \(tsk\)

The Pressman books are freaking impossible. Add the JC Penney/Stridex variants and you have the hardest nine books in the run. One doesn't even have a graded copy and one is labeled a 'second print' when the others are labeled 'reprint.' All the same run of books, though. Maybe an X-men Reprint set for those and the Marvel Legends books would be more appropriate.

If you pick up the Marvel's Official Index to the Marvel Universe - The Uncanny X-Men TPB that just came out they list, and show the Pressmens in the second printings, newsstand, and variants sections:

Uncanny X-Men 297 (2/93) Pressman Toy Company, sendaway, gold cover
Uncanny X-Men 303 (8/93) Pressman Toy Company, sendaway, gold cover
Uncanny X-Men 307 (12/93) Pressman Toy Company, sendaway, gold cover

So, that still doesn't mean they aren't schlitz.

"When in a room full of people and no one has your back; it's time to move your back." ~ Anonymous

I think that life's too short for this. I want back my ignorance and bliss. I think I've had enough of this. Blow me... one last kiss.