Page 1 of 6 12345>Last »
Topic Options
#4616173 - 02/20/11 07:08 PM "Uncle Remus and His Tales of Brer Rabbit" appreciation thread!
Hepcat Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Toronto
Any collector of "Uncle Remus and his Tales of Brer Rabbit" comic items faces a daunting task. Granted only three comic books devoted to Brer Rabbit and crew have been published, those being Four Color 129, 208 and 693. Here are scans of the latter two from my collection:

In addition though Brer Rabbit was also the character feature of the 1955 Kite Fun Book giveaway of several electric power utilities across the U.S. Here's one from Hake's website:

Brer Rabbit was also the title feature of Wheaties premium D-4 and Cheerios premiums X-3 and Y-2. Here are scans of these from my collection:

What makes collecting the appearances of the Briar Patch stable of characters so daunting, however, is that an "Uncle Remus and His Tales of Brer Rabbit" comic strip ran weekends from October 14, 1945 to December 31, 1972 in select newspapers across the breadth of the country:

I have several dozen of these newspaper strips but that's not much more than just scratching the surface.

I do though have a couple of one-of-a-kind Uncle Remus items in my comic room. The first is the original art for the poster from the 1972 rerelease of the "Song of the South" movie:

The second is a stained glass window of Brer Fox and Flower I commissioned for the door in my comic room leading to my upper porch:

Edited by Hepcat (02/20/11 07:24 PM)

#4616209 - 02/20/11 07:24 PM Re: "Uncle Remus and His Tales of Brer Rabbit" appreciation thread! [Re: Hepcat]
comicdonna Offline

This is what my dog thinks of your post.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: The Green Mountain state!
I used to own one of the Wheaties premiums.

#4616502 - 02/20/11 10:05 PM Re: "Uncle Remus and His Tales of Brer Rabbit" appreciation thread! [Re: Hepcat]
selegue Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Stone Age
 Originally Posted By: Hepcat