Page 5 of 18 « First<34567>Last »
Topic Options
#4293282 - 09/29/10 10:23 AM Re: 1964-D Peace Dollar [Re: PerryHall]
MarkFeld Offline
Dealer
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Texas
 Originally Posted By: PerryHall
The U.S. Mint says all 1964-D peace dollars were melted and none now exists. How is it possible to "COPY" something that doesn't exist? This is not a counterfeit since no real examples exist. This would more properly be called a fantasy coin. There were a few dozen threads concerning this coin on the PCGS coin forums but they were all locked or deleted. Apparently PCGS wants to pretend these coins don't exist or they think by deleting these threads fewer forum members will know about them.
PCGS isn't pretending that the coins don't exist - they probably got tired of the beating of the dead horse, with all of the threads and the bickering that most of them led to. And if they were intent on fewer forum members knowing about it, they would have deleted, rather than locked the thread with more than 900 replies.

Your accusation is baseless and absurd.

And for a couple other posters here - the name is Daniel (not David) Carr.

Edited by MarkFeld (09/29/10 10:43 AM)

Unless otherwise stated, the opinions I express here are my own.

#4293296 - 09/29/10 10:28 AM Re: 1964-D Peace Dollar [Re: James_EarlyUS]
19Lyds Offline
Bid more or post more... tough one...

Loc: California
 Originally Posted By: James_EarlyUS
David, please see my previous comment regarding the PVC flip which you use for housing the coins. Being silver, they are assured of reacting negatively with the flips at some point. You are not sealing the flips anyway, so I should think there would be no problem investing just a trivial amount more in flips that are much safer.

I've already transferred mine to a safe mylar flip, and hope others will do the same.

Dan Carr made it perfectly clear in some of the threads ATS that he doesn't use PVC flips and that his flips are safe for coin storage.