Page 1 of 20 12345>Last »
Topic Options
#4244591 - 09/06/10 02:15 PM Defining the Modern Age
Boozad Offline

Please, please. No more man-crushes. I've hit my limit.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: England.
I'm not sure if many people saw this, it was published on the CBCA Quarterly newsletter. Written by Mike Cathro I found it to be an exceptional piece, and a topic that will no doubt still be lingering on a few years from now.
Considering the Modern Age is now dating back nearly 20 years, surely it's time to find a cutoff date for what is now the Modern Age and create an age between Copper and the 'now' Modern.

What is traditionally thought of as comic books has been around since 1933 when Maxwell Gaines, working for the Eastern Color Printing Company, decided to put 10 cent price stickers on copies of Famous Funnies to sell at the local newsstands. This book is widely considered the first comic book that used the familiar format that is still in use today. Ever since then, comic books have been entertaining the young and old alike. No one really thought of them as being a collectible though. For just a dime, comic books were meant to be read and discarded. This all changed in the 1970’s with the creation and growth of the comic book specialty store. Now the comic book that was meant to be thrown away after reading was being collected! As the hobby grew, so did the classification. Comic books were divided into ages.

Each comic “Age” begins with a defining moment. For the Golden Age it was the release of Action Comics #1, the book that introduces Superman to the world. The Silver Age starts with the release of Showcase #4. This is the introduction and reinterpretation of the Flash by DC Comics. The Modern Age is seen to begin with the formation of Image Comics back in 1992. Below is the list of generally recognized comic book ages and their time spans…

Platinum Age – Pre-1938*
Golden Age – 1938-1945 (8 years)
Atom Age – 1946-1956 (11 years)
Silver Age – 1956-1970 (15 years)