Page 6 of 6 « First<23456
Topic Options
#4118679 - 07/02/10 03:25 PM Re: Ethics Question ??? [Re: shadroch]
ComicConnoisseur Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: BOSTON STRONG
First obligation should be only to one`s family and one`s self. ;\)

#4118711 - 07/02/10 03:38 PM Re: Ethics Question ??? [Re: arexcrooke]
skypinkblu Offline

I'm just the coordinator. Just?

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Somewhere over the Rainbow
We are a board full of collectors, we know where to look things up, or who to ask.

When I came to this board, I had a few books from a friend that were apparently quite rare. He had asked me to sell them for him.

I did try to look them up, but the only places I knew to look was on Ebay or in an Overstreet guide and- Google, never realized there were other venues, I just was not that sophisticated. The prices were way under the true value in the Overstreet Guide, and there were no sales on Ebay, no hits on Google. I asked a few people, but they had no experience with the titles.

I'm not exactly stupid, but I was not that educated in obscure titles and it just didn't click that there were no comparisons because the items were so rare. I had no experience with rare comics.

I sold them to a "collector" who told me what they were "worth". I accepted their assessment. I found later that the prices I got for my friend, were most probably way under what the true value was.

I if I had a clue, I would have started a thread asking, of course I had no clue, LOL.

In my case, the money did not really affect me, but I felt badly after because my friend could have used the extra cash.

I at least I had SOME clue...I knew a little bit where to look. I've since learned about Heritage, C Link, the human encyclopedias on the board...etc.

A few of you are assuming that the person was lazy. I am looking at it from the viewpoint (and I might be wrong) that this other woman had no clue where to look...and she DID need the money. Taking advantage of her, in my opinion would be unkind.