Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#3977452 - 04/30/10 12:30 PM Proving you have a real Racketeer Nickel?
Scott B Offline
I was posting here when you were in diapers.

Loc: Maryland 'burbs of DC
Is there anyway to prove that an 1883 No Motto Liberty Head V Nickel was plated in 1883 and attempted to be passed as a $5 gold coin?

I know that there have been later attempts at gold plating these coins and trying to pass them off as genuine. But how could you tell the difference between one of these post-controversy plating versus one that really plated in 1883?

I am asking because a friend found such a coin with remnants of the plating, but I keep telling him that the plating was probably done later. I don't think that any of the ones in the original story survived. Is there any way to tell the difference?

Scott

#3977630 - 04/30/10 01:41 PM Re: Proving you have a real Racketeer Nickel? [Re: Scott B]
WoodenJefferson Offline

I have nothing to add or subtract, I am merely here.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Fibonacci φ spiral
If the reeding was done properly and the plating has rubbed off in places, your odds of having a genuine Racketeer Nickel improves. I do not think a lay person could tell the difference, it's going to have to be an expert who has seen or can compare the real deal to any other candidate.

#3977842 - 04/30/10 02:53 PM Re: Proving you have a real Racketeer Nickel? [Re: Scott B]
James_OldeTowne Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: St. Louis, MO