Page 1 of 3 123>
Topic Options
#3736181 - 01/23/10 11:30 AM old-time CGC label vs new CGC label?
ComicConnoisseur Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: BOSTON STRONG
Yes, I am back with another newbie question. \:\) Some people have told me to try to buy the old label CGC over the new label CGC because back in the day CGC`s grading was much stricter,for example if I buy a old school CGC label at a 9.4, I could then break it open and resubmit and have a good shot at getting a CGC 9.6. Any truth to this line of thought?

Edited by ComicConnoisseur (01/23/10 11:30 AM)

#3736186 - 01/23/10 11:33 AM Re: old-time CGC label vs new CGC label? [Re: ComicConnoisseur]
AGGIEZ Online   content

Did you really just "Funny post" your own post?

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Tejas, Houston
I'd like to see some BEFORE/AFTER pics to prove this theory...

#3736195 - 01/23/10 11:35 AM Re: old-time CGC label vs new CGC label? [Re: ComicConnoisseur]
joe_collector Offline

Ok ok. JC Superstar. But only because he martyred his ID.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Titan
 Originally Posted By: ComicConnoisseur
I buy a old school CGC label at a 9.4, I could then break it open and resubmit and have a good shot at getting a CGC 9.6. Any truth to this line of thought?

Sure, if you press out all the SCS and other damage.

#3736228 - 01/23/10 12:00 PM Re: old-time CGC label vs new CGC label? [Re: ComicConnoisseur]
comicwiz Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Toronto
Yes, I am back with another newbie question. \:\) Some people have told me to try to buy the old label CGC over the new label CGC because back in the day CGC`s grading was much stricter,for example if I buy a old school CGC label at a 9.4, I could then break it open and resubmit and have a good shot at getting a CGC 9.6. Any truth to this line of thought?

It always falls back to knowing the book in the holder inside out. Some of my own observations (which are limited submissions in comparison to the high volume submitters on these boards):

Old Label