Page 5 of 45 « First<34567>Last »
Topic Options
#3428145 - 09/03/09 08:59 AM Re: Is This Forum Slowly Dying? [Re: Mr. Zipper]
Comicopolis Offline

Only 7000 posts in more than 7 years - that's just lazy.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Just whistle
 Originally Posted By: Mr. Zipper
 Originally Posted By: r1970d
 Originally Posted By: JohnT
My personal opinion: General has a lot of substanceless threads and posts, and it's gotten tiresome to wade through the fluff...so I have been sticking to some of the other sections of the site.

Exactly.

Lots of negativity at times.

Everything is cyclical and the summer is probably the time when people spend the least amount of time online.

That said, these forums have certainly evolved.

When I first joined it seemed as though they were content driven. Information sharing seemed to be the primary driver and the social aspect was a happy byproduct.

Now, we have a whole new generation of posters whose primary driver appears to be the social aspect.. the boards are much more personality driven. Information sharing is now secondary.

So, if you are an old school information seeker (and not part of the clique), there isn't a whole lot of "stickiness" here anymore. Give it a quick browse and move along. If you are a new gen person seeking social interaction, there are plenty of opportunities to insert yourself.

Genius and common sense in one post.

This is why zippers are better than buttons.

#3428150 - 09/03/09 09:01 AM Re: Is This Forum Slowly Dying? [Re: VintageComics]
ChasingKingKirby Online   content
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Mechanicsville, VA
I don't think this place is dying at all. I think there is a little burnout, but the amount of actually compelling content on the site is fairly high. The marketplace isn't what I would call "booming", but I've managed to sell some pretty high-end books in only a few months. So there are still "buyers" here. The scandals seem to actually encourage posting not discourage...