Page 1 of 21 12345>Last »
Topic Options
#3409154 - 08/26/09 10:30 PM Stronguy Reviews The Marvel Bronze Age
Stronguy Offline

Nah, it's only a .38. My mom shoots one of those.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Dallas
As some of you may recall I completed my Marvel Bronze Age set a couple of years ago. I've been slowly reading my way through them but it's taking forever. I've got 2 kids and I like to fight so there's not a lot of free time.

I'm pretty familiar with all of the mainstream titles and their story lines. I've read entire runs Avengers, X-Men and stuff like that. What I thought I'd focus on is the in-between stuff. Things like The Cat, 2001: A Space Odyssey... you know, the stuff that not many people read.

So, in this thread I'll start posting reviews of some of the more interesting books or runs I find. Some of these things completely fly under the radar so this should be an interesting experiment. Posting will be in a random order at first because I'm already through a long box and a quarter. Gee, only 15 more boxes to go.

Forgive me if I ramble. Some of this stuff is really bad.

Click here to add this thread to your watch list.
www.BoxOfComics.com
Comic Art Fan Gallery

#3409158 - 08/26/09 10:32 PM Re: Stronguy Reviews The Marvel Bronze Age [Re: Stronguy]
Stronguy Offline

Nah, it's only a .38. My mom shoots one of those.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Dallas
Champions
Issues 1-17
October 1975 - January 1978

Rating: 2.5/5 (thanks to issues 11-15)

The formula is simple... take some B-listers who can't float a book on their own, mix in some really bad writing and stick them in LA. That's pretty much what the Champions is all about.

The first 7 issues of this run are really bad. Bad plot, bad dialog (Tony Isabella), bad art (Don Heck)... just bad. One interesting thing to note was issues 1-3 were originally intended to be a Giant-Size book and contain Black Goliath. Instead they decided to make it a bi-monthly book and move BG to his own equally as sucky book.