Page 6 of 43 « First<45678>Last »
Topic Options
#3384488 - 08/16/09 11:23 PM Re: Maybe The Wrong Place But... How To Pack Your Books For Shipping [Re: MR.COMICBOOK]
slym2none Offline

Meme mummer

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: dislocated
 Originally Posted By: MR.COMICBOOK
question where can I find cheap cardboard as I am always running out?

Go look behind furniture stores. You can find double-thick cardboard sometimes...

\(thumbs u

-slym

#3384870 - 08/17/09 08:40 AM Re: Maybe The Wrong Place But... How To Pack Your Books For Shipping [Re: MR.COMICBOOK]
ChasingKingKirby Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Mechanicsville, VA
Good tutorial. For me, who sends mostly slabs, I bend cardboard around the ends of the slab, wrap in bubble-wrap. Slide it into the 15" priority box and pack any open space on all four sides with newspaper, bubblewrap or whatever packing material is handy. I haven't had one broken yet. Though, it the post office works hard enough they can break anything. My broken slab collection is up to three. All received from ebay sellers:

Amazing Spider-Man 1 - Shipped in a manila envelope.
Green Lantern 76 - Shipped in a priority box that the PO absolutely crushed. Looked like it was crushed LONG ways.
Batman 232 - Priority box with no packing material. That's right, none. Just slid into the box. It rattled around in there for the whole trip.

#3385001 - 08/17/09 10:01 AM Re: Maybe The Wrong Place But... How To Pack Your Books For Shipping [Re: ChasingKingKirby]
Boozad Offline

Please, please. No more man-crushes. I've hit my limit.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: England.
Ouch, that's some bad treatment for some nice books. I would take this to ebay too, but for all the good it would do it's just not worth it. I doubt any of the comic sellers on there would read it anyway.

I just checked my ebay and I think I've bought three books from there in the last three months due to badly shipped books. 99% of my buying goes on here now.