Page 23 of 42 « First<2122232425>Last »
Topic Options
#4823806 - 05/23/11 10:08 PM Re: How To Pack Your Books For Shipping - by Boozad [Re: Walls]
lizards2 Offline

I have no registry points, so the only way to exercise my geek superiority is by being a jerk.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Oregon Outback - Duckland!!!
 Originally Posted By: dwaller
 Originally Posted By: lizards2
 Originally Posted By: slabthistoo
 Originally Posted By: Liaton-9000
I've gotten two shipments of high grade books this week from boardies in priority envelopes / manila envelopes - what is wrong with you people? \(shrug\) Use a box - it rarely costs any more to use a box, and the books are way more likely to make it to their destination undamaged.

I've personally had about 97% of my books shipped in envelopes (bubble, manila, priority) and they've all arrived to me in tip-top shape.

I hear that anecdotal evidence all the time - it is not my experience with HG books, and I get several shipments in a week. Maybe 80% of the books come through unscathed that way, but no where close to all - that is not an acceptable rate. Envelopes might work great for low grade junk, but not for expensive, HG books. I don't see those u-line boxes working well either, as there is not adequate cushioning around the edges.

I had a $75 book folded in half not three weeks ago, due to being sent in a priority envelope, and it had beefy cardboard.

Again, it rarely costs more to use a box, so why not do it? I'm rapidly writing a bunch of you off here.

+1
had a $400 book placed between thick cardboard get folded in half because the sender used an envelope.
It is good to know who uses envelopes so I can buy elsewhere.
I had a $450 book come in off eBay last month with, I shiiite you not, one piece of cardboard in a manila envelope. I lucked out that time though, as no damage. It was a rare VF GA book too - pretty damm careless.