Page 2 of 4 <1234>
Topic Options
#3194729 - 05/27/09 02:27 PM Re: The Wells Fargo Hoard .. How did this happen? [Re: tradedollarnut]
gmarguli Offline

Slightly Evil

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Los Angeles
 Originally Posted By: tradedollarnut
I heard a rumor the bags actually came from Russia and the story was just that - a story. But that's just a rumor. I don't see why it would matter much.

A made-up story being attached to a hoard of coins? I just can't believe that would ever happen. ;\)

#3194890 - 05/27/09 03:52 PM Re: The Wells Fargo Hoard .. How did this happen? [Re: physics-fan3.14]
MunkyMan95 Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Electric Avenue
 Originally Posted By: physics-fan3.14
This is the first I've heard of this hoard, so I can't add anything. But does someone have pictures of the 69s? Holy cow, those must be amazing.

Heritage Link, you'll have to sign in to see the pictures
Wells Fargo - The Best One! Heritage as well.

#3194932 - 05/27/09 04:19 PM Re: The Wells Fargo Hoard .. How did this happen? [Re: BillJones]
MarkFeld Offline
Dealer
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Texas
I was still a grader at NGC when those coins surfaced.

If I had merely heard about the number of coins receiving such (high) grades and not seen them, I would have been certain that the grading was way too liberal. However, seeing them in-hand, however, I thought that overall, the grading was quite good/accurate. What an amazing group of Saints!

Unless otherwise stated, the opinions I express here are my own.

#3194940 - 05/27/09 04:23 PM Re: The Wells Fargo Hoard .. How did this happen? [Re: MunkyMan95]
PerryHall Offline
Chatzilla

I have heard that this hoard received very generous grades from PCGS and that because of this, the Wells Fargo pedigree carries a stigma resulting in some owners asking PCGS to reholder them without the pedigree noted on the label.

#3195145 - 05/27/09 05:38 PM Re: The Wells Fargo Hoard .. How did this happen? [Re: PerryHall]
Conder101 Offline
Pedigreed