Page 34 of 47 « First<3233343536>Last »
Topic Options
#2908213 - 01/30/09 07:49 AM Re: CGC Response on Suspected Ewert Books [Re: lou_fine]
DrWatson Offline

"What are you armed with?"
"Guess."
"Guess?"

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Twatosaurus rex
 Originally Posted By: lou_fine
 Originally Posted By: DrWatson

So, if and when you sell these "OO" books, are you going to sell them for exactly what you paid them?

Don't really understand your point of view here!

Are you implying that the only people who should make money on a book are speculators or those who are willing to juiced them up and then laundered them. Sounds like you are saying that any collector who buys a book and holds onto that book for an extended period of time because they want to have that book in their personal collection should only be allowed to sell them for the exact same price they originally paid for them.

To tell you the honest truth, I have much less problems with collectors making money on a book naturally over a period of time as opposed to a non-collector who simply "buys them, juices them up" and without any disclosure, flips them for a profit.

But I do understand your point of view that one is more interested in the book while the other is more interested in the money. So of course, its more important to ensure that the latter gets as much money as he can out of the game, while the former should make absolutely no money at all when he does decide to sell.

So, what is the standard waiting period? At what length of time does a sale no longer become a flip? When is it okay to sell a book and profit from the transaction? When is a greedy, juicing, pumping dealer who flips books allowed to make the same profit as a virtuous pillar of the collecting community?