Page 27 of 47 « First<2526272829>Last »
Topic Options
#2890665 - 01/22/09 09:21 AM Re: CGC Response on Suspected Ewert Books [Re: THE_BEYONDER]
nik Offline

Hellenistically Gifted

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Southboro, Mass
Yes it is

#2890680 - 01/22/09 09:29 AM Re: CGC Response on Suspected Ewert Books [Re: General Zod]
batman_fan Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: CO
 Originally Posted By: General Zod
 Originally Posted By: batman_fan
 Originally Posted By: Murph
Who has an Ewert book that has been trimmed? Break that book out of the slab, and resubmit it without noting it as an Ewert book. I'll pay $10 to help pay for the regrade, I'm sure others would pitch in. If it comes back unrestored, CGC can't reliably detect some trimmed books. If they catch it, they can. Much better method then posting a bunch of conjecture about how hard it is to detect, and how CGC can't detect trimming or the trim job Ewert did, etc. Surely someone must have one.

This experiment has already been run at least once.

Results: Book came back in a blue holder, no trimming. Later it was returned to CGC because before and after scans existed and it was finally declared "trimmed".

That was hardly a controlled and well-documented experiment run by reputable people. I trust Dad&Son as far as I can spit.

It wasn't Dad&Son, it was a well known dealer that was told a book was a Ewert book and was definitely trimmed. They cracked it out of the case, resubbed without telling CGC and got it in a new blue holder which was then relisted it on a site. It was detected again and eventially exposed. I would say pretty good example. My summary may not be the best, but the whole thing played out here on these boards so a search should find it.

my Comic Art

batman_fan's feedback thread

My most wanted for Original Artwork Covers. If you have them and wish to let them go, please contact me!

#2890687 - 01/22/09 09:40 AM Re: CGC Response on Suspected Ewert Books [Re: batman_fan]
Flaming_Telepath Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE