Page 20 of 47 « First<1819202122>Last »
Topic Options
#2889704 - 01/21/09 07:13 PM Re: CGC Response on Suspected Ewert Books [Re: DrWatson]
COI Offline

I would like to issue a formal apology to myself for allowing myself to inflict this thread on myself.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Tired and afraid
 Originally Posted By: DrWatson
 Originally Posted By: The Resurrection
My statements were based off of if the buyers had more knowledge when buying raw.

How much more knowledge does someone need? All the knowledge in the world is at anyone's fingertips 24/7. Anyone interested in pressing, trimming, restoration, the Network of Disclosure, scanners for slabs, GPA, Danny Dupcak, auction houses and who sucks on eBay can find all of that here on the Internet.

I have performed several web searches and almost always a thread from this message board returns in the search results. Anyone who claims ignorance is nothing but lazy.

I have read page after page on trimming and I can't detect trimming on the level of Ewert or Dad & Son (DrDisclosure in his latest incarnation). I certainly couldn't do it at a convention. Hell, I have seen board members buy comics with rusty staples from Dave Kapelka after being told while standing on the convention floor to be sure and check his stuff for rusty staples.

I guess my point is that anyone who expects 100% perfection better get ready to be disappointed. Nothing or no one is infallible, certainly not myself.

If I were to judge based on the price disparities realized between grades, I would suggest that this concept isn't widely grasped.

#2889710 - 01/21/09 07:19 PM Re: CGC Response on Suspected Ewert Books [Re: awe4one]
COI Offline

I would like to issue a formal apology to myself for allowing myself to inflict this thread on myself.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Originally Posted By: awe4one
 Originally Posted By: nik