• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1939 NEWSSTAND PIC TIME MACHINE JOURNEY INTO THE PAST
18 18

2,392 posts in this topic

Hello,

This is my first post, but I have been talked about on this site. My photo of Dad Bailey news stand started this subject.

I have 3 photos of his stands. Two that have been posted on Flickr and one I have yet to post. I should post the third photo someday.

So this is the horses mouth, you can believe it or not. The photos are 100% real no fakes or trickery. All I have is Photoshop Elements and I'm still a novice with digital photography. I do have many years of experience in analog photography and have been a collector for years. When I first saw this photo as a kid it blew me away. I took it to High School and looked at it under a 3D microscope and it was like a little time machine.

I have enjoyed this discussion and knew little about it till I was contacted by a member of this site and a member of flickr. I have shot photos for about 40 years and collected them for most of my life.

I asked my Dad about these photos and he does not remember much, he was about 7 when they were taken. I think the photo was taken by a family friend named Redd Fox, not the guy from Stanford and Son. He had a photo shop in the Huntington Park area of California. I think the camera was a 4x5 since the original photo is a contact print. The weird focus may come from the shift of the photo-plain you can do with a large format camera. It is used to increase or decrease the depth of field.

I have many old family photos that I have been posting for a while. One of the family members was in the silent movies back in the teens and 1920's. Dad Bailey was my Great Uncle and his full name was Charles Bailey. His Daughter was the film actress in the silent days.