Page 4 of 133 « First<23456>Last »
Topic Options
#1381403 - 09/25/06 03:05 PM Re: Post your Golden Age Adventure/New Adventure/New Comics [Re: FFB]
CentaurMan Offline
Chatzilla

Loc: Chicago
Here's another hard-to-find issue, New Adventure #29:

It's funny, the Flessel covers for pre-Batman Detective Comics are widely known as classics and are in heavy demand. Yet I believe his work on the pre-Sandman Adventure Comics is equally impressive, maybe even more exciting due to the broad range of subject matter (Flessel stuck to the "Detective" vs. "Adventure" themes very nicely). But for some reason, these early Adventures don't sell for the same premiums as the early Detectives.

I think they're a good bit scarcer, which is part of the problem. People don't even know of them except as a vague run.

#1381404 - 09/25/06 03:36 PM Re: Post your Golden Age Adventure/New Adventure/New Comics [Re: jkrk]
topofthetotem Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: The land of Canada
Quote:

I can only play this game once.

I'm now out of ammunition.

But you fired one hell of a shot.

Topofthetotem's feedback thread

#1381405 - 09/25/06 03:47 PM Re: Post your Golden Age Adventure/New Adventure/New Comics [Re: CentaurMan]
selegue Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Stone Age
If I could have a full run of any title from any publisher, not considering the monetary value of having full Action or Detective runs, I'd take New/ New Adventure/ Adventure Comics. Even without the precursor titles, I'd probably still choose Adventure. Great covers and great variety in the contents. Even during the mediocre years of the late 70s to early 80s, it kept up the variety because it was either an anthology or couldn't hold on to a feature -- then faded out with those nifty little digests that have a strange appeal. (Probably some people here don't count those as comic books.)
I'm enjoying the wonderful scans of high-grade copies!
Jack

Quote: