Page 12 of 22 « First<1011121314>Last »
Topic Options
#1141077 - 04/02/06 10:00 PM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: binarysunrise]
FFB Offline

At long last I feel regular.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Quote:

Quote:

Perhaps because the interior of the safe is solid plastic with no seams, the contents inside the safe were spared from the corrosive offgassing.

Um, isn't plastic (at least among conservation people) one of the worst things to store in due to the offgassing of the *plastic*? Though I guess some plastic/pvc is worse than others...(otherwise why would CGC encapulate comics in plastic....)

Mylar is a plastic. It isn't the plastic that is the problem. It is the plasticizers and other additives that are the problem.

#1141078 - 04/03/06 07:55 AM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: FFB]
binarysunrise Offline
Chatzilla

Just checking - thought that perhaps cheaper safes might not use inert plastic in the interior housing...

The Speeding Bullet
http://www.thespeedingbullet.com
--an archive of Superman newspaper strips--

#1141079 - 04/03/06 12:06 PM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: BronzeBruce13]
Burntboy Offline
TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Penna.
Bruce - i pulled out my Brochures from both Fort Knox and heritage safes and read through them carefully.

interesting to not e that both manufacturers offered a dehumidifier option. (which i did not take, BTW). both warned of the potential for moisture damage to guns and other valuables from humidity, but niether suggested that it was necessary. seems to me that they were thinking of environmental sources of excess humidity like one might expect in louisiana or elsewhere..............

also of interest is a "Corrosion Control" option offered by Ft Knox. it touts the possible need for protection from corrosion to metals when stored in a non-ventilated environment.