Page 7 of 22 « First<56789>Last »
Topic Options
#1141027 - 04/01/06 03:16 AM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: tth2]
FFB Offline

At long last I feel regular.

TOTAL NEWBIE

Quote:

Quote:

Top Staple... this is very painful to observe

I thought you were talking about FLECKS of rust, which even then would be unusual on such "young" comics. This looks like some parasitic infection! Man, I am totally bummed for you.

How are the covers? It's hard to believe that much moisture hasn't affected them in some way.

I don't think that's moisture causing that. It looks more like serious corrosion caused by some other chemical in that safe.

#1141028 - 04/01/06 03:17 AM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: tth2]
BronzeBruce13 Offline

The Bronze Godfather

TOTAL NEWBIE

Loc: Gliese 581D & 667C, HD 10700e
the other 3 only have the start... some grouped flecks. No where near what happened to this one. Its one of the oldest books in the safe

#1141029 - 04/01/06 03:18 AM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: BronzeBruce13]
BronzeBruce13 Offline

The Bronze Godfather

TOTAL NEWBIE

something happend to the first post with this image???

Bottom Staple... if you can stomach it...

Attachments
1174929-Hulk182BottomStaple.jpg (143 downloads)
Description:

#1141030 - 04/01/06 03:24 AM Re: Important information about storing comic books in fire proof/resistant safe [Re: FFB]
BronzeBruce13 Offline

The Bronze Godfather

TOTAL NEWBIE

I agree with you since there is no "other" visible signs of moisture infiltration such as "wavy" pages or other paper damage like foxing, etc.

I have heard that some coin owners (with coins made of precious metals - rust proof) have experienced other reactions (toning issues) within fireproof safes.